How to Watch the ‘Jurassic Park’ and ‘Jurassic World’ Movies in Order or Chronologically

Soumya Nair

Written by Soumya Nair

Updated On January 4, 2024

jurassic park movies in order

Warning: Undefined variable $output in /home/u263760133/domains/ on line 454

The best part is that the franchise has carried on for all these years and the latest on the list of Jurassic Park movies was released in 2022. The movies very well introduced kids of all generations to the thrilling world of dinosaurs and with dino fever going on this might be the perfect time to immerse ourselves in some nostalgia.

The Jurassic World franchise has a special place in the life of all 90s kids. Our childhood is incomplete without the movies that gave us the near-to-realistic experience of extinct monstrous species, dinosaurs. It all started when Stephen Spielberg adapted the novel by Michael Chrichton into a movie in 1993 titled Jurassic Park. Can you believe it’s already been three decades?

Watch Every ‘Jurassic Park’ and ‘Jurassic World Movies in Order

The movies can be divided into two categories, the Jurassic Park trilogy (1993-2001) and the Jurassic World trilogy (2015-2022). Discover all the Jurassic Park and Jurassic World movies by release year. 

Jurassic Park (1993)

Jurassic Park

The first ever movie that gave people the thrilling and spine-chilling experience of monstrous animals was the 1993 release, Jurassic Park. The movie starred Richard Attenborough as John Hammond, the owner of Jurassic Park. 

When John plans to open the world of dinosaurs to the public he wants to make sure everything is prim perfect and that the visitors will have a safe experience. But everything seems to go downhill when an employee shuts down all the critical security systems in an attempt to steal dinosaur embryos. Can humans survive against monstrous animals?

The never dying love for the franchise bought back the movie again in 2013 but this time in 3D. 

IMDb Rating: 8.2/10Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 91%

The Lost World: Jurassic Park (1997)

The Lost World Jurassic Park

After the mass success of Jurassic Park, the audience had high expectations of the franchise. The second on the list of Jurassic Park movies in order is The Lost World: Jurassic Park.  The movie bought back the character of Hammond who now has a newfound information about an island where cloned dinosaurs have been kept in their natural habitat. 

Hammond plans of keeping the island untouched by human presence and use it for the sole purpose of studying dinosaurs. But his rival from the last company lands on the island and tries to capture the dinosaurs for making another Jurassic Park in San Diego. 

IMDb Rating: 6.5/10Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 54%

Jurassic Park III (2001)

Jurassic Park 3

Unlike the previous two films, Jurassic Park 3 was not based on Michael Crichton’s novel as the author did not release any after the two parts. The movie was the lowest-grossing among all the Jurassic Park movies and was supposed to be the last film of the franchise.

The movie did not reprise the character of Hammond but instead welcomed back Dr Alan Grant who is in search of funding for his research on Velociraptors. When Paul Kirby and his wife reach out to him and agree to fund his whole research in return for an aerial tour of the island, he agrees without a second thought. But Grant is unaware of their true motives for visiting the island and finds himself in a chase against the dinosaurs once again. 

IMDb Rating: 5.9/10Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 49%

Jurassic World (2015)

Jurassic World

After a long gap of 14 years, the franchise decided to revive itself. Jurassic World is not a sequence but a fresh start in the trilogy of Jurassic World. After all not all good things are supposed to come to an end. The movie also bought back the loved character of Steven Spielberg and fans were excited to watch Jurassic World.

The movie is set after a 22-year gap and the failed Jurassic Park can be seen functioning under the name ‘Jurassic World.’ Chris Pratt starred as Owen Grady, a velociraptor trainer. When a dangerous mega-dinosaur gets released from its captivity, Owen and his team of trained velociraptors are tasked to take down the Indominous Rex. The fight scene between the Indominous and a T-Rex was the highlight of the movie. 

IMDb Rating: 6.9/10Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 71%

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom (2018)

Jurassic World Fallen Kingdom

The franchise has always set up the plot as per its release date and hence this one is set three years apart. The dinosaurs have been living on the island without the disturbance of human presence but their existence is under threat due to an impending volcanic eruption. 

When the U.S. government decides to let the dinosaurs die due to the massive havoc they have created in the past couple of years, Owen and Claire take it upon themselves to save the dinosaurs. The movie was a box office success with a collection of $1.3 billion worldwide.

IMDb Rating: 6.9/10Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 71%

Battle at Big Rock ( 2019 short film)

Battle at Big Rock

Battle At Big Rock is a 10-minute short film released on YouTube. The film showcased the first encounter of humans with the majestic dinosaurs. It takes place in a family park named Big Rock where a small family comes face to face with an adult and a child Nasutoceratops. 

The meeting goes on peacefully as both species are in awe of each other until an Allosaurusm tries to attack the child Nasutoceratop. The short film serves as the connecting dot between Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom and Jurassic World: Dominion. 

IMDb Rating: 6.9/10Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 67%

Jurassic World Dominion (2022)

Jurassic World Dominion

The 2022 release, Jurassic World Domination currently marks the last on the list of Jurassic movies in order. The plot is set after the destruction of the island in the Fallen Kingdom. Some of the most loved characters of the franchise, like Alan Grant, Owen Grady, Claire, and Ian Malcolm, came together for the project.

The plot revolves around how dinosaurs are still roaming in the open world and that the threat is not over yet. The much-awaited release was a box-office hit with a worldwide collection of over $1 billion.

IMDb Rating: 5.6/10Rotten Tomatoes Rating: 29%

How to Watch Jurassic World & Jurassic Park in Chronological Order

With this chronological order, you’ll experience the Jurassic saga in its intended flow, witnessing the evolution of technology, characters, and, of course, the dinosaurs themselves. So grab your snacks, dim the lights, and prepare to be transported to a world where prehistoric giants roam the Earth once more!

  1. Jurassic Park (1993)
  2. The Lost World: Jurassic Park (1997)
  3. Jurassic Park III (2001)
  4. Jurassic World (2015)/Camp Cretaceous: Seasons 1 and 2 (2020-2022)
  5. Camp Cretaceous: Season 3 (2020-2022)
  6. Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom (2018)
  7. Camp Cretaceous: Season 4 (2020-2022)
  8. Battle at Big Rock (2019)
  9. Jurassic World: Dominion (2022)

Remember, this is just one way to enjoy the Jurassic franchise. You can mix and match the films and series, or even marathon them all in release order for a different perspective. No matter how you choose to watch them.


The franchise bought many of our fantasies into reality by giving us the most realistic view of what it would look like if dinosaurs still existed. These are all the Jurassic Park movies in order to watch. That’s all for now about the fascinating dino world till then stay tuned for further updates. 

Author: Soumya Nair

Soumya Nair is an entertainment industry enthusiast who loves to write and bring in all the gossip and news to everyone interested. She always make sure to keep a keen eye on everything that goes behind the glam and glitter of the industry.

Related Post's